Writer Unboxed » Blog Archive » Shifting the blocks

Posted: November 27, 2010 in Writing Tips
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Shifting the blocks

November 4th, 2010 by Juliet Marillier

I hate structural editing. I think I’m quite a lazy writer. In my ideal world I would finish the manuscript and find that the only editing required was a quick trawl through to pick up clunky style, repeated words etc. Because I am a planner par excellence, and because I edit so much as I go, I should be able to achieve that with no trouble. Sometimes I have.

My work in progress is a young adult novel, the first in a new series called Shadowfell, and I’ve been aiming at a word count somewhere between 90,000 and 120,000. Past experience suggested I’d finish closer to the upper figure. My critique group has been reading a couple of chapters a month and providing very useful feedback as I progress, and I’ve been working in my usual way, continuously revising the earlier chapters as I add new ones. About a month ago, at around 70,000 words, I saw a structural problem looming.

via Writer Unboxed » Blog Archive » Shifting the blocks.

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tiny, Tiny. Tiny said: Writer Unboxed » Blog Archive » Shifting the blocks: http://wp.me/p1c3mE-2S […]

Leave a Reply

